A Letter from Chair, Dr. Blair Anderson

Dear Donors, Subscribers, Understudies and Friends,

Forgive the lengthy salutation, but I feel many of you fit several or all of the above designations.  We are off to another good start at all theatres and we are very excited about the 09-10 season.

I wanted to briefly share with all of you, that at the end of this 2009-2010 academic year and theatre season—which will conclude my second 5-year appointment as Chair and Director of Theatres—I will step down as chair and return to the faculty.  Having been associated with Wayne State theatre since coming to Detroit in 1977 as a PhD applicant, I have been fortunate to find “a home” in such an outstanding program.

The past eleven years as chair (the first year was as interim chair) have been the most rewarding and satisfying of my professional career in the academy.  In truth, the years have flown by.  And each and every one of you has been a part of our continuing success story.  Hopefully you have gotten as much from us as we have gotten from you.  I have always shared publicly that one of our best teaching tools is our discerning, knowledgeable, and supportive audiences.  Students learn incredible real-life visceral lessons from
you during performances.  And they learned whether our theatrical offerings were moving, humorous, breathtaking, and/or when they sometimes (hopefully rarely) missed the mark.  For your continued participation I am most grateful and I personally thank you.

Our Hilberry Repertory Theatre (the flagship program, but by no means the only program, in the department) is uniquely situated with one foot in academia and one foot in the cultural community.  These are difficult times facing universities and arts organizations, and I do feel some regrets in stepping down at this time.  I do so not because of those challenges, but rather because, at this juncture, I believe it will be best for the Department of Theatre, for the Hilberry Repertory Theatre, and for me—as I commit myself to some unfulfilled goals and creative projects.

Finally, it has been a pleasure chairing a department with such dedicated, talented, ambitious and creative faculty and staff.  They collectively have great energies as they guide future generations of talented theatre students.  The best is yet to come!

All of my best, and I hope to see you at the theatre soon!

Chair, Dr. Blair Anderson at 2004's President's Preview

Blair Anderson, Chair

3 thoughts on “A Letter from Chair, Dr. Blair Anderson

  1. I’m so sad to hear this! As an alumni of the HRT, Blair was an outstanding mentor and leader. He will be greatly missed.

  2. Dearest Blair:

    From the days of the study of knots to our Professional Partnerships, I have always admired your wisdom & cherished your generosity.

    As you open a new chapter in your story with WSU theatre, may you revel in renewed creative freedom & balance. THE BEST IS YET TO COME – INDEED!

    with love,
    Annette

Leave a Reply

