Guest Blogger and Hilberry Alum: Introducing Rob Pantano

Hi. I’m Rob. This is my blog. You’ll have to excuse me, I’m a little nervous. You see, this is my first BLOG. Do I use ALL CAPS for BLOG? Do I U.S.E. [.] A.F.T.E.R. E.V.E.R.Y. L.E.T.T.E.R.? B.L.O.G. Ah forget it. You know what it is. I’ve been asked by the good folks at the Hilberry to write something for the website and, if I do a good enough job, I’ll get to keep doing it. Fingers crossed. Here we go:

First of all, why me? You know, honestly, I don’t know Why Me, but maybe if I keep writing, it will become apparent.

Second thing we should address is: Who am I? For those of you who don’t know me . . . shame on you. Er. Um. I mean, I was an actor in the Hilberry from August 2007 – May 2010. I performed in 12 of the 18 productions that went on during my time. Including: As You Like It, Hamlet, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and The Seagull.
Now what? Well, I guess I could talk about what it’s like to go from the Hilberry out into the WORLD. I’m going to assume that you’re someone who is familiar with the Hilberry, so I don’t have to waste your time explaining the Repertory System. However, if you don’t know any of that, I’m sure the person who proofreads this will have some clever little link <- to an explanation. If not, sorry but I’m not going backward, we’ve come too far.

Guildenstern “Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead”

I am NOT from Michigan. I am from New Jersey. NOT the Jersey Shore. —And now that we’re on the subject, can I just take a moment to state that none of those AWFUL people are actually NJ residents! They’re all jerks who vacation in NJ and now they’re suddenly the representatives!? Those people are the reason I don’t go to Seaside Heights, NJ!— Sorry about that, but it needed to be done. Where was I? Oh yes, I came to Michigan FOR the Hilberry. I spent 3 years here doing little more than taking classes and putting on plays. Not complaining at all, mind you, but I had little clue about what the theater culture was like OUTSIDE of WSU.

I had a few ideas, but nothing could prepare me for how much opportunity there is for actors! At least it seems that way to me! I graduated in May, auditioned my butt off throughout the summer and managed to book 4 shows at 4 different theaters! Starting at The Planet Ant I played Robbie (ha ha, real stretch) in Criminal Hearts throughout Sept. I am currently in the middle of the run for a show called Wiley and the Hairy Man (playing Hairy Man) at The Tipping Point Theatre. In December, I will begin rehearsals for a show at The Meadowbrook Theatre called The 39 Steps and finally, in March I will be in a JET show called New Jerusalem.

I’ve been very fortunate to have been cast so well by so many different theaters. And so far, I have had nothing but wonderful experiences. I was a little afraid that the theater community of the greater-Detroit area might be inclusive and inaccessible to outsiders (many of my experiences in NYC and NJ had been that way). Nothing could be further from the truth! Everyone I’ve met so far has been very opened and inviting! It makes a great experience even BETTER. I get paid doing something I love AND get to work with wonderful people who become friends!

I’ll write more soon. I feel like we’ve gotten off to a good start. You know a little more about me and I still know absolutely NOTHING about you. Just the way I like it.

Medvedenko in “The Seagull”

You can find out more about what’s happening with Rob here as he continues to post for us.  You can find out a bit more about him at his website, robpantano.com too.

One thought on “Guest Blogger and Hilberry Alum: Introducing Rob Pantano

  1. Pingback: Guest Blogger: Hilberry alum Christina Flynn « The Hilberry Theatre

Leave a Reply

