Guest Blogger and Hilberry Alum: Brian P. Sage

Hello Hilberry Blog readers! You may remember me from the previous three seasons as a Hilberry actor and company member. Roles included Joe Keller in All My Sons, Harry Brock in Born Yesterday, Touchstone in As You Like It, and Dr. Dorn in The Seagull just to name a few. I’ve been asked to share a bit about what’s been going on in my life post-Hilberry. So…really big news first: my wife and I are expecting our first child in March 2011. After completing one formal education I’m about to be schooled in something completely different! I’ve appreciated the sleep I’ve gotten since graduation, but I’m actually looking forward to late night feedings and the like since I’ve felt a little helpless in the whole process so far.

As for my professional life, I’ve just recently opened Guys on Ice at the Tipping Point Theatre in Northville. It’s been a wonderful opportunity to reconnect with James Kuhl (former Hilberry actor and now Artistic Director of Tipping Point) and to begin finding my way into the professional acting community in Metro Detroit. There is a remarkable sense of camaraderie between the professional theatres, actors and directors who all serve as a sort of support system for each other. It’s incredibly refreshing! It’s also been exciting to work in the intimate space at the Tipping Point (90-100 seats) taking me back to my black box theatre roots which began during undergrad (at Western Michigan University) and continued during my time in Chicago. I’ll also be doing The Cocktail Hour at Tipping Point in the spring.

Guys on Ice at the Tipping Point Theatre

During the day I’ve been working as an adjunct lecturer in theatre for Eastern Michigan University. I teach two beginning acting courses for majors and non-majors and an Introduction to Theatre course. It’s been an exciting introduction to the other side of academia and has confirmed my commitment to sharing what I’ve learned and continue to learn with an undergraduate community. I’ve certainly made my share of rookie mistakes, but the little victories are so worth it. It’s amazing to watch a student who might not have had any real interest in theatre make revelations and connections that might otherwise have gone undiscovered. To be able to think: I might have had a hand in it, however slight, is a pretty incredible feeling!

I wish you all the happiest of holidays and look forward to updating you again in 2011!

-Brian P. Sage

2 thoughts on “Guest Blogger and Hilberry Alum: Brian P. Sage

  1. Pingback: Guest Blogger: Hilberry alum Christina Flynn « The Hilberry Theatre

  2. Pingback: Guest Blogger: Hilberry Alum Chris Nelson « The Hilberry Theatre

Leave a Reply

